school supplies: THE GREEN WAY

This past weekend I was in Dallas spending some time with my parents (who I unfortunately, hardly ever see). I also picked up some school supplies for my upcoming semester at Texas State. Knowing what I do now, I can’t do or buy anything without thinking of the consequences of those actions, so I knew I needed to buy green school supplies. Here are some of the things I purchased…

  • A 12 pack of TICONDEROGA “Enviro Stiks: the Environmentally Friendly Pencil.” They are made from non-rainforest sustained yield wood. They have an unpainted surface and are 100% recyclable. The eraser is latex free, the box is made from 100% reclaimed fiber with a minimum of 35% post-consumer waste. They also sponsor the Kids in Need Foundation.
  • Two 6inx9in “New Leaf Paper” steno books produced by Top Flight. 100% post consumer fiber and processed without chlorine. And two 8″x10 1/2″ spiral bound 1 subject note books, which are also made in the U.S.A. “Just think, in a previous life, this was probably somebody else’s notebook.”
  • 2 packs of BIODEGRADEABLE by PaperMate. The main body of the pen (which comes in black, blue, red, and purple ink), is compostable! There’s a diagram on the back of the box which shows you what components are compostable, which are made from corn based materials. After hackeling the Office Depot sales people, I was able to find ink replacements for the pen (I bought two packs of four), making them even more green.

  • I also purchased 5 plastic folders. I was a little uneasy about this purchased but because Office Depot didn’t offer any post-consumer paper folders, I decided this was the next best option because they will last me a long time, aren’t susceptible to water or coffee stains and definitely won’t rip.

In total, this all cost me under $30. I understand this might seem like a lot, but considering how little the environmental impact these products have compared to others on the market, I think they were well worth the price.

Keep thinking green thoughts!

